Threads tagged with: apps

After some searching through the codes, I found these things. Just want to share, in case someone is also having concerns about this.

The only problem with these settings is that they do not appear until a user has created some content so it is quite confusing. If a new user goes to these settings, they will be empty because they don't have any content. However, as they create content (pages, groups, photos, videos etc...) for each module, a setting will appear in this menu, allowing the user to restrict viewing to "community, friends, or no one".

You can show empty tabs by changing the setting in CP Admin. Find the setting with keword : "profile.show_empty_tabs"

Furthermore, if you want hide some menus you can do that by manipulating it using your own template. The behaviour is defined by the template "profile.block.pic.html.php".

January 10, 2021 2:44 am

I beleive this is already a feature

Display User Timeline Photos within Gallery
Disable this feature if you do not want to display user timeline photos within the photo gallery.

its the setting right below the current settings you quoted above in the Photos app

I could be wrong but i think thats how it works but haven ttried as I dont have a live site right this second(still going thru all the setup process)

I DO NOT see that same setting for the Video app

 

Thanks for the input, unfortunately, that's not how that setting works. The settings is to display user timeline photos within the photos app on the user profile and in the main photos app.

 

Example:

 

Setting enabled: When user posts profile photo or photo to timeline, it creates an album called "timeline photos" which can be accessed via the user profile and choosing "photos" from the user profile menu. The same photos also appear by going into the main photo app index (from main menu for example). So their photos can be accessed outside of their user profile. The main photo app holds all photos, site wide.

 

Setting disabled: When user posts profile photo or photo to timeline, the timeline photo is not added to either section of the photos app. You cannot view them on user profile or in main photo app. However, all user profile and cover photos are STILL added to the main photo app, accessible outside of the user profile. The main photo app holds all photos, site wide. Disabling this setting only disables the creation of the timeline photos album and storing of timeline photos. It does not stop photos from being accessed through the main photos app, outside of the user profile.

 

Try it out. I believe this behavior is suitable for maybe a photography website or something like that but it is not suitable for standard social media. No one wants their photos accesible outside of their profile. Even if they are public, why broadcast them to the whole site? Doesn't make sense.

April 13, 2020 11:35 pm

Apparently there is a dependency for PhpFox sites tied to Phpfox.com and if there is an issue with this there is nothing which can be done until this is corrected by them. 

I am guessing that is not true except for downloading apps or updating apps because if there is a connection that will cause a website to have issue because of software manufacture without disclosing it, they could be sued big time as I have read that before several years back but I can't remember what company but they had to pay big time for loss of income (probably ads though) and reputation of the website being down.

January 27, 2020 3:47 am

Since phpFox will update source code of app while upgrading with webserver user account, perhaps the webserver account doesn't have write permission on source folder of app you want to upgrade. You should contact your hosting provider for help to check

July 20, 2018 3:06 am