Threads tagged with: settings

Thanks, also some good pointers there. I love comments and love colors. If someone looked at books I read before the internet was commonplace they would swear I was the one who developed color coding of code that is now widely used. My wife has laughed at me for decades on my incessant use of highlighters when I read/study. She thinks it's funny how virtually every line is highlighted. She sees using highlighters (the way most people do) as a method to highlight importance whereas I see using coloration and highlighting as a method of organizing thought.

I did follow the upgrade guide on permissions. It may be that initial clone however had permission issues not directly related to the upgrade permissions. 

I initially tried the zip/unzip method similar to what you described but still had issues. I do not understand why but sometimes direct file transfers work better. I have been told that intelligent FTP programs can sometimes better understand when a file needs to be transferred in binary mode, which can have an impact on permissions. My site's are rather large and have tons of user generated content so this of course does have the drawback of elongated file transfer times, which I am in the middle of now. If it however corrects the perceived permission problem then the time lost (while doing other tasks in the meantime) will be more than made up for on the savings used to troubleshoot.

 

 

 

March 10, 2021 2:28 am

After some searching through the codes, I found these things. Just want to share, in case someone is also having concerns about this.

The only problem with these settings is that they do not appear until a user has created some content so it is quite confusing. If a new user goes to these settings, they will be empty because they don't have any content. However, as they create content (pages, groups, photos, videos etc...) for each module, a setting will appear in this menu, allowing the user to restrict viewing to "community, friends, or no one".

You can show empty tabs by changing the setting in CP Admin. Find the setting with keword : "profile.show_empty_tabs"

Furthermore, if you want hide some menus you can do that by manipulating it using your own template. The behaviour is defined by the template "profile.block.pic.html.php".

January 10, 2021 2:44 am

I beleive this is already a feature

Display User Timeline Photos within Gallery
Disable this feature if you do not want to display user timeline photos within the photo gallery.

its the setting right below the current settings you quoted above in the Photos app

I could be wrong but i think thats how it works but haven ttried as I dont have a live site right this second(still going thru all the setup process)

I DO NOT see that same setting for the Video app

 

Thanks for the input, unfortunately, that's not how that setting works. The settings is to display user timeline photos within the photos app on the user profile and in the main photos app.

 

Example:

 

Setting enabled: When user posts profile photo or photo to timeline, it creates an album called "timeline photos" which can be accessed via the user profile and choosing "photos" from the user profile menu. The same photos also appear by going into the main photo app index (from main menu for example). So their photos can be accessed outside of their user profile. The main photo app holds all photos, site wide.

 

Setting disabled: When user posts profile photo or photo to timeline, the timeline photo is not added to either section of the photos app. You cannot view them on user profile or in main photo app. However, all user profile and cover photos are STILL added to the main photo app, accessible outside of the user profile. The main photo app holds all photos, site wide. Disabling this setting only disables the creation of the timeline photos album and storing of timeline photos. It does not stop photos from being accessed through the main photos app, outside of the user profile.

 

Try it out. I believe this behavior is suitable for maybe a photography website or something like that but it is not suitable for standard social media. No one wants their photos accesible outside of their profile. Even if they are public, why broadcast them to the whole site? Doesn't make sense.

April 13, 2020 11:35 pm