Okay...first off I am not a php developer so this is a "hey do you think this will work?" thread moreso than a tutorial.

Problem:

I want to display 4 ads in block location 3. I also have a banner ad at the top and a skyscraper on the left. I do NOT want 4 ads in those locations.

Last week I installed OpenX and created some ad blocks in the admin panel and it works in such a manner that I now have the number of ads per block I want. The bad part is now I'm using a 3rd party solution and creating more work for myself.

Possible solution?:

I opened /module/ad/include/service/ad.class.php

Find:

if ($iTotal < count($aAds) && Phpfox::getParam('ad.how_many_ads_per_location') > 0)

I changed that to:

if ($iBlockId = '3' AND $iTotal < count($aAds) && Phpfox::getParam('ad.how_many_ads_per_location') > 0)

That seems to work. At least it is showing correctly on my site. No syntax errors according to Dreamweaver and not showing any errors in debug on the site. But I'm still unsure of my code. Perhaps someone familiar with the code can take a quick peek and see if this looks legit or if it just seems to be a fluke that it's working for me?
Last update on February 20, 2013 by SlideRiceFC.
Be the first person to like this.
Donna(data66)
I can leave this here where it is fine but Purefan seems to look in the Coding area. did you want me to put it there in case he looks tomorrow or wait to see if someone else answers?
Thanks. Yes, if you think it'll catch the eyes of Purefan, Fern and other coding folks that might be better.
There is not enough context in your post for somebody who does not use either blocks or ads (me) to answer your question in terms of the big picture: is it logically correct within the system?

That is, I do not know what values and meanings for $iTotal and $iBlockId, how they are used or what the implications might be. That's a different level of analysis.

But syntactically your if statement looks fine.

if (A AND B && C)