Hi there, featured vids are only tied to accounts and not by pages. We can not feature a vid from a page.

I am a coder and I am going to code this to work but if anyone out there has the code to make it all work and look nice for featuring videos from pages please let me know. This is a strange thing, I assumed we could feature videos from pages...guess not?
Be the first person to like this.
Has anyone got their site setup to allow for featuring videos from pages? Looks like there is a little bit to this - any ideas?
Donna(data66)
Merged duplicates. Don't post duplicates. You could file a feature request for this.
OK. So has anyone ever done it before though? I can't be the first one who wanted to feature a page video?
Donna(data66)
I've Not Seen It Asked Before That I Can Recall. I'm On Droid, Please Excuse The Caps.
webwolf
This looked like an interesting puzzle for today. I thought it might be easy to set up. It turned out to be a little more complicated than I had hoped, but it can be done (barring any unforeseen side effects).

It looks like the only reason that you can't feature a video in the pages section is that the template code prevents the selections from appearing. The easy solution to this is to change the template to do what you want, but that would represent a bad practice, so I will provide this other solution.

Within the file /module/video/template/default/block/entry.html.php is a hook called video.template_block_entry_3. We can use that to insert the feature options back into the menu. Create a file called video.template_block_entry_3.php and place it into the module/video/include/plugin folder. Place this code within the file:
PHP:
//Get the video data for this entry
$aVideo=$this->getVar('aVideo');

// Only show the menu item to those who can use them

if(Phpfox::getUserParam('video.can_feature_videos_') && defined('PHPFOX_IS_PAGES_VIEW'))
{
    echo 
'<li id="js_feature_' $aVideo['video_id'] . '" ';
    if(
$aVideo['is_featured'] == 1)
    {